Social media metrics re-visited

It’s happening again….The reason why I teach is to have an excuse to learn, and marking my students’ media communication projects has set me off on a steep learning curve.  Over the past week, I’ve learned more about social media analytics than I ever thought possible. Thanks to my students, I’ve learned about bounce, about stickiness, about curation  and about how to apply the new Valid Metrics Matrix to social media campaign evaluation.

But…interestingly, it is surprising that in all the social media stuff out there about social media that too few people talk about whether social media driven PR campaigns are actually changing behaviour in the real world.   And that links back to proving PR’s credentials in the boardroom, proving return on investment, demonstrating the strategic value of the latest gadget in the toy box.

So, I thought about whether any social media campaigns that I have been on the receiving end of have actually led me to part with real money.  And, to my surprise, the two that actually have produced that all important revenue generating moment came to me in an extremely old fashioned, non-trendy way- by email. 

So, how many of you have ever clicked through on an advert that sits alongside the Facebook page, or a sponsored link on Google, and even if you have, did you actually spend some money online as a result?   Shouldn’t PR be measured on its impact on the bottom line?  For more interesting insight on the subject, check out Craig Pearce’s excellent blog on the subject.

About catherinesweet
Academic, professional, communicator, stakeholder in a dozen different disguises

2 Responses to Social media metrics re-visited

  1. I’ve been on a similar learning journey too, and have found Philip Sheldrake’s The Business of Influence and Katie Delahaye Paine’s Measure What Matters (both published this year) to be helpful.

  2. Thanks for those references, Richard. One online source that I rate is D Hinchliffee on community management, which a lot of my students were experimenting with. Check out http://www.zdnet.com/blog/hinchcliffe/community-management-the-essential-capability-of-successful-enterprise-20-efforts/913

Leave a Reply

